Rad Reading – January

In January, I read The Martian by Andy Weir. The Martian follows astronaut Mark Watney when on his sixth sol on mars, there is a huge sandstorm and he is presumed dead and abandoned. He has to use his wits and resourcefulness to survive until the next Ares mission arrives so he can escape mars. Also, this book has a lot of swear words, so if you don’t like that, this isn’t the book for you.

What i really liked about this book is how it is as realistic as possible with how everything is scientific eg. in order to grow crops, you need the bacteria in the soil. Even with some serious moments, the main character, being the comedian that he is, makes the book pretty funny with his logs.

My favorite character was Mark Watney as he is resourceful. This can be supported by the quote, “On to idea number two. Tape! I have duct tape in my toolbox, Let’s slap some on and see if it slows the flow”. This proves that Mark is resourceful as he uses what he has to its full potential.

My favorite quote is, “But really, they did it because every human being has a basic instinct to help each other out.”. This is my favorite quote as I find it to be true. As the quote says, this might not always seem true but it is as everyone wants to help everyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *